Progress!

DSCN3855

For those who follow my blog, you know that I am in the process of recovering from a broken foot – a fracture of my 3rd metatarsal suffered during the 1/2 marathon at Ironman 70.3 Austin. I had a non-weight-bearing cast, with crutches, for 4 weeks. I did what I could. I used the Concept II rower, hand cycle, and Freemotion machines at CSU Sac State. For the last two weeks I had a weight-bearing cast and found a cast cover I could use to keep the cast dry for swimming. With the cast cover and a pull buoy I was able to get back in the pool.

When I got the cast, the orthopedist told me that if I could go a week, weight-bearing without pain, that I could get a removable walking boot. Friday, which was just over two weeks later and more than a week without pain, I had the cast removed and I got a walking boot. The great thing about the boot is that I can reach my take it off to shower. I could bear weight, even without the boot, without pain, but I felt very uncoordinated and off balance. It felt like I was trying to walk after my foot had fallen asleep. My foot and ankle were also extremely stiff and still swollen. When I got home I stretched, went through a lot of range of motion exercises, and iced my foot. My ankle loosened up and the swelling went down a bit. Even better, I got on the trainer that evening. It was only for abut 40 minutes and I stayed on my small chainring, but it was good to spin again and get some movement in my ankle. I rode the trainer again the next two mornings before our long USA Track & Field Level I coaching clinic sessions. Again, no pain.

Best of all, I got in the pool this morning, without the cast, and swam. This is what I had been waiting for. I grew up a swimmer, swimming has always been my active recovery, and swimming has always been the best way for me to work out any stiffness and soreness. I got back in my usual lane and could really tell the difference of swimming without the cast. Oddly, my kicking rate felt a lot faster and my arm turnover much slower… perhaps from doing so much pulling for the last two weeks. I could also really feel the demands on my ankle with my flutter kick, but it’s all good, because it will help my foot and ankle regain strength and mobility.

Progress.

Leave a Reply

